• AveryBackground02.jpg
  • AveryBackground03.jpg
  • AveryBackground04.jpg


County Government

Avery County is governed by five county commissioners who employ a county manager. The sitting board includes Chairman Kenny Poteat, Vice-Chair Joe Strickland, Jake Owens, Phyllis Forbes, and Bill Beuttell. The manager is Robert Wiseman.

State House Representation

Avery County is located in North Carolina State House District 84 along with Mitchell and Yancey Counties and the western half of Caldwell County. Our state representative is Phillip Frye (R) of Spruce Pine.

State Senate Representation

Avery County is located at the northern end of North Carolina Senate District 47. Also in this district are Mitchell, Yancey, McDowell, Madison and part of Haywood County. Our state senator is Keith Presnell (R) of Yancey County


US NC 11th Congressional District:

Congressman Mark Meadows

Local Office: (828) 426-8701 (Lenoir)

DC Office: (202) 225-6401


NC State Senate 45th District:

Senator Dan Soucek

Local #: (828) 773-6197

Raleigh #: (919) 733-5742


NC State House of Representatives

Representative Josh Dobson

Local #: (828) 442-4370

Raleigh #: (919)733-5862