• AveryBackground02.jpg
  • AveryBackground03.jpg
  • AveryBackground04.jpg

A Brief History

NC Map Avery County is the 100th and last county formed in North Carolina in 1911, from portions of Mitchell, Watauga and Caldwell Counties. It is named for Waightstill Avery (1741-1819) who was a Colonel in the Continental Army during the Revolutionary War, a member of North Carolina state legislature, 1776, 1782-83, 1793, North Carolina State Attorney General, 1777-79; and a member of North Carolina state senate, 1796. It is characterized by rugged mountains including Grandfather Mountain, home to the Grandfather Mountain Highland Games & Gathering of Scottish Clans. It has the highest average elevation of any county in the United States east of the Rocky Mountains, reaching that of 5,964 ft. above sea level. Approximately half of the county lies within the Pisgah National Forest. There are many wild trout streams and ski resorts located within its boundaries. The population in 2002 was 17,526. The county seat is Newland.

Avery County's Search Engine

Pre-1911 County Boundaries

Current Avery County Map (269KB)

Where to Write For Records
Avery County Historical Museum
P.O. Box 266
Newland, NC 28657
828-733-7111 or 765-4247
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it the museum

Avery County Public Library
150 Library Pl
Newland, NC 28657

Avery County Court House
Main Street
Newland, NC 28657

Avery County Registry of Deeds
PO Box 87
Newland, NC 28657

For Pre-1911 Records

Caldwell County
PO Box 1376
Lenoir, NC 28645
Phone 828-758-0161

Mitchell County
Crimson Laurel Way Administration Bldg.
Bakersville, NC 28705
Phone 828-688-2434

Watauga County
403 W. King St.
Boone, NC 28607-3531
Phone 828-264-1300